CSTAM vice president Zheng Xiaojing elected as member of first session of TWAS Gender Advisory Council

Zheng Xiaojing, vice president of the Chinese Society of Theoretical and Applied Mechanics (CSTAM) and academician of the Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS), was recently elected as member of the 1st session of the Gender Advisory Council of the World Academy of Sciences for the Advancement of Science in Developing Countries (TWAS). She is expected to provide consultative advice to the TWAS on how to increase the number of women nominated or elected as TWAS academicians, chairpersons, lecturers and award winners during her 3-year term of office, representing Asia-Pacific regions in the Council.

Zheng’s election recognized her contributions in research of sands and sandstorms mechanics and the role of Chinese female scientific and technological workers. CSTAM established the Working Committee for Female Scientists in 2017, and Zheng served as chair of the 1st session and honorary chair of the 2nd session. Led by Zheng, the Committee well-organized a series of academic activities, providing exchange platforms for female scientific and technological workers; committed to the recommendation and training of outstanding female scientific and technological workers, many of whom have won a number of honors; improved the ability to serve the grassroots level through carrying out poverty-alleviation by supporting science and education activities, and science popularization activities etc.

With the aim to help the TWAS better fulfill its duties and promote gender equality, the TWAS Gender Advisory Council was established to provide advisory services in 2021. Based on their status in science community and their contributions to promoting women’s participation in scientific activities, a short list of 15 candidates came out covering the entire Asia-South Asia-Pacific region and ranging wide research domains in agriculture, life sciences, medicine, chemistry, environmental science, engineering science, physics and mathematics. Zheng won the final election with an overwhelming majority of votes.