Professor Zhuo Zhuang Elected Member of IACM Executive Council

Recently International Association for Computational Mechanics (IACM) elected new members to the IACM Executive Council. Professor Zhuo Zhuang, Director of CSTAM Working Party on Computational Mechanics, was elected IACM Executive Council member, serving from 2020 to 2026.

The first attempt to bring together this community followed a letter from three leading scientists working in this field, R.H. Gallagher, J.T. Oden and O.C. Zienkiewicz who called a meeting of 12 persons at Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta, Georgia, U.S.A. in April 1981 to form a group of International Centers of Computational Mechanics. IACM has since 1984 been affiliated to the International Union of Theoretical and Applied Mechanics (IUTAM). IACM was founded to promote advances in computational mechanics by the international group of scholars and practitioners of this new discipline. The World Congresses on Computational Mechanics (WCCM) rotate on a two year cycle between the three geographical regions of IACM.

In 1988, CSTAM Working Party on Computational Mechanics has been affiliated to IACM. In 2004, The 6th World Congress Computational Mechanics (WCCMVI) was successfully held in Beijing, China. More than 1,300 participants from 58 countries and regions attended the conference. Chinese scientists holding important positions in international organizations will enhance China’s voice in international mechanics community. Professor Mingwu Yuan of Peking University once served as member of IACM Executive Council.

Zhuo Zhuang is Professor and Co-director of the Advanced Mechanics and Materials Center in the School of Aerospace Engineering, at Tsinghua University in China. He has published over 280 papers in leading scientific journals. He is General Council member for APACM, and President of the Chinese Association of Computation Mechanics (CACM), Vice-director of the Supervision Committee on Mechanics at the Ministry of Education, and serves as an editor on both national and international journals. He received his PhD from University College Dublin in Ireland, and an Honorary Doctorate Degree (EngD) from Swansea University in the UK. His contribution works focuses on development of analytic theory and discrete dislocation dynamic coupling with finite element (3D DDD-FEM) for study on crystal plasticity at micro scale, the fracture-based FEM, developing multiscale theoretical models and computations, as well as related experiments to design and manufacture the polymer-based composite of protective meta-material, which is used to prevent biology body vulnerated from high frequency and overpressure blast wave. More recently, the research is involved in hydraulic fracture in shale.